Monday Reading (March 16th, 2015)

monday reading

In this weekly event hosted by One Persons Journey Through a World Of Books where we discuss what we’ve been reading this week (and, occasionally, what we haven’t).

As I’ve only just returned from a long international trip, my reading schedule has been in a bit of disarray. I have not kept up with my Deal me in! challenge and so have a fair amount of short story reading to catch up on. Book-wise, I’m also a bit behind (at least, according to Goodreads).

That being said, I have been reading! Here’s what I’ve recently finished:

  • The Jungle Book by Rudyard Kipling – Started this collection of stories with my Deal me in! challenge, and decided to keep on reading on! Some of the tales I absolutely adored, but others I found rather… indicative of the time, shall we say.
  • One Good Earl Deserves a Lover by Sarah MacLean – This was a fun book, but the premise was all kinds of unbelievable. I managed to suspend that disbelief for the first, oh, 300 pages? But it got to be a bit much by the end.

Currently Reading:

  • The Boy with the Porcelain Blade by Den Patrick – I am only 23 pages into this, so it is still far too soon to judge! The only think I can say for certain? Patrick sure likes to describe clothing.

Deal Me In! update: Weeks 7-12

Since my last update, I’ve been drawing cards a plenty – but not always reading the books! Here’s what I’ve drawn and what I’ve read (in bold):

  • Week 7: Ace ♣ – IV League by Margaret Stohl
  • Week 8: Queen ♦ – Shoulders of giants by Robert J. Sawyer
  • Week 9: Eight ♥ – Mowgli’s Brothers by Rudyard Kipling
  • Week 10: King ♣ – Red Run by Kami Garcia
  • Week 11: Nine ♠ – The Adventure of the Speckled Band by ACD
  • Week 12 (this week): Four ♥ – Thistle & Thorne by Ann Aguirre

Waiting on Wednesday: Uprooted by Naomi Novik

“Waiting On” Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted over at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that are being eagerly anticipated.

Uprooted by Naomi NovikUprooted by Naomi Novik

Fantasy – May 21st 2015 by Macmillan

goodreads

Agnieszka loves her valley home, her quiet village, the forests and the bright shining river. But the corrupted wood stands on the border, full of malevolent power, and its shadow lies over her life.

Her people rely on the cold, ambitious wizard, known only as the Dragon, to keep the wood’s powers at bay. But he demands a terrible price for his help: one young woman must be handed over to serve him for ten years, a fate almost as terrible as being lost to the wood.

The next choosing is fast approaching, and Agnieszka is afraid. She knows – everyone knows – that the Dragon will take Kasia: beautiful, graceful, brave Kasia – all the things Agnieszka isn’t – and her dearest friend in the world. And there is no way to save her.

But no one can predict how or why the Dragon chooses a girl. And when he comes, it is not Kasia he will take with him.

From the author of the Temeraire series comes this hugely imaginative, engrossing and vivid fantasy novel, inspired by folk and fairy tales. It is perfect reading for fans of Robin Hobb and Trudi Canavan.

This is a Naomi Novik book, so of course it instantly went onto my wishlist. Before even knowing what it was about, I wanted it! The blurb made me all the more excited, though – it is not often we see series authors we adore branch out into stand-alone novels. I am looking forward to having something… complete. 🙂

Waiting on Wednesday: Nowhere But Here by Katie McGarry

“Waiting On” Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted over at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that are being eagerly anticipated.

Nowhere but here by Katie McGarryNowhere But Here (Thunder Road #1) by Katie McGarry

Goodreads – Contemporary YA -May 26th 2015 by Harlequin Teen

An unforgettable new series from acclaimed author Katie McGarry about taking risks, opening your heart and ending up in a place you never imagined possible.

Seventeen-year-old Emily likes her life the way it is: doting parents, good friends, good school in a safe neighborhood. Sure, she’s curious about her biological father—the one who chose life in a motorcycle club, the Reign of Terror, over being a parent—but that doesn’t mean she wants to be a part of his world. But when a reluctant visit turns to an extended summer vacation among relatives she never knew she had, one thing becomes clear: nothing is what it seems. Not the club, not her secret-keeping father and not Oz, a guy with suck-me-in blue eyes who can help her understand them both.

Oz wants one thing: to join the Reign of Terror. They’re the good guys. They protect people. They’re…family. And while Emily—the gorgeous and sheltered daughter of the club’s most respected member—is in town, he’s gonna prove it to her. So when her father asks him to keep her safe from a rival club with a score to settle, Oz knows it’s his shot at his dream. What he doesn’t count on is that Emily just might turn that dream upside down.

No one wants them to be together. But sometimes the right person is the one you least expect, and the road you fear the most is the one that leads you home.

I am not usually a YA romance fan, but for Katie McGarry? All my reservations disappear! I adored her novels Dare You To and Crash Into You and, while I wish we were getting another book in that series, I am very excited to see where she goes next.

Monday Reading (Feb. 2nd, 2015)

monday reading 11

In this weekly event hosted by One Persons Journey Through a World Of Books where we discuss what we’ve been reading this week (and, occasionally, what we haven’t).

Shadow Study by Maria V Snyder The Devil's Heart by Carmen Carter

Currently Reading:

Shadow Study by Maria V. Snyder – Yup, I’m still reading this. It is good, but not the most engaging of books. I love the chapters featuring Valek, but the book is a lot of effort for me to pick up.

Recent Listens:

The Devil’s Heart by Carmen Carter – Really not a favourite, despite a narration by a great Star Trek actor. Not terrible but rather… boring!

Deal Me In! update

I’m taking part in the Deal Me In challenge this year, reading a story a week during 2015 as chosen by a deck of cards. See my full list of stories to be read here.

Last week, I dealt 2 of clubs for Automatic by Rachel Caine – I was surprised by my enjoyment of this tale, given my current not-so-great feelings about the Morganville books. This morning I dealt a 4 of diamonds for Prisons by Kevin J. Anderson and Doug Beason. Considering I didn’t enjoy the last Federations story that much, I am a bit nervous about this one…

Waiting On Wednesday: Public Enemies by Ann Aguirre

“Waiting On” Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted over at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that are being eagerly anticipated.

Public Enemies by Ann AguirrePublic Enemies by Ann Aguirre

Goodreads – Paranormal YA – August 4th 2015 by Feiwel & Friends

In Book 2 of the Immortal Game trilogy, Edie must learn the rules of the game . . . and then play better than anyone else.

Through a Faustian bargain, Edie Kramer has been pulled into the dangerous world of the Immortal Game, where belief makes your nightmares real. Hungry for sport, fears-made-flesh are always raising the stakes. To them, human lives are less than nothing, just pieces on a board.

Because of her boyfriend Kian’s sacrifice, she’s operating under the mysterious Harbinger’s aegis, but his patronage could prove as fatal as the opposition. Raw from deepest loss, she’s terrified over the deal Kian made for her. Though her very public enemies keep sending foot soldiers–mercenary monsters committed to her destruction–she’s not the one playing under a doom clock. Kian has six months…unless Edie can save him. And this is a game she can’t bear to lose.

OK, it is WAY too soon to be featuring Ann Aguirre on my WoW again but… JFC THIS COVER! I just spotted it today and HAD to feature it! Even if Aguirre weren’t already one of my auto-buy authors, this book would be on my list. What can I say, I am a sucker for a great cover!

Monday Reading (Jan. 19th, 2015)

monday reading 11

In this weekly event hosted by One Persons Journey Through a World Of Books where we discuss what we’ve been reading this week (and, occasionally, what we haven’t).

Somehow I forgot to post my reading last week! Ah well, I am still getting back into the swing of things. 🙂 So, this week I am covering TWO weeks of reading.

Currently Reading:

poison study by maria snyder Shadow Study by Maria V Snyder

Poison Study by Maria V. Snyder – This is my first re-read in years! I adored it when I first read it and am quite enjoying it this second time. Not quite as stellar, but still a great book.

Shadow Study by Maria V. Snyder – After a few pages, I put this on hold to re-read Poison Study. Wanted to get back into the “feel” for the characters before I continued.

Entice by Carrie Jones – This one was a “I am on a plane and have finished my book, what else do I have on my phone” choice. I didn’t enjoy Book 2 all that much but do want to finish this series eventually… I admit, I haven’t restarted the book since getting off that plane, so who knows!

Recent Reads:

All fall down by ally carter This Shattered World by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

All Fall Down by Ally Carter – Fab! A really great start to another great Ally series. I was a bit miffed by the ending, but I know things will be more stellar in the next book.

This Shattered World by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner – SO GOOD I CAN’T EVEN. BUY IT AND READ IT AND LOVE IT. 

Recent Listens:

Warped KW Jeter  Emissary by JM Dillard

Emissary by J. M. Dillard – A must-listen for die-hard Niners. Lovely alternative look at the pilot.

Warped by K.W. Jeter – Despite a great narration, this was not a very good book.


Deal Me In! update

I’m taking part in the Deal Me In challenge this year, reading a story a week during 2015 as chosen by a deck of cards. See my full list of stories to be read here.

Last week,  I dealt the 7 of hearts – otherwise known as Wild Magic by Ann Aguirre. Aguirre can do no wrong – a fact that also applies to short stories. This week, fate has handed me the 8 of diamonds a.k.a. Spirey and the queen by Alastair Reynolds. I haven’t gotten to this one yet but hey, I have all week!

Page 1 of 2912345...Last »